The Department of philosophy, Bankura Christian College, Bankura, has been providing the students a cultural, social and religious heritage of Indian civilization to humanize and enrich the modern notion of progress and to enable it to promote Indian cultural and philosophical identity.

The Department of Philosophy, Bankura Christian College. was established in 1910. It is one of the oldest and prestigious department of Bankura Christian College. Renowned Professors like Prof. Satkari Mookherjee had been one of the Head of the Department of Philosophy at the beginning time and under their guidance, the best scholars of the country were recruited as the faculty members of the department. As a result, from the very beginning this department has flourished. Since it’s very beginning the department started creating history. Among its faculty were teachers and scholars of national acclaim like Professor Smith, Anil Baran Roy, Sasanka Sekhar Bandopadhyay, Prof. Satkari Mookherjee, and Prof. Mrinal Kanti Bhadra to name only a few.

The department has been upgraded from pass graduate department to a Honours Graduate department in the year 1915 with the affiliation from the University of Calcutta, and later with the affiliation from the University of Burdwan. At present three full time teachers served this department. They are Mousumi Das (HOD), Anupam Jash, and Sunanda Das. The strength of honors students (in three years) are 150 and more than 800 students have opted Philosophy as their pass course subject. It is needless to say that the academic performance of the students are very good.

Students: The department can justifiably be proud of its products- students passing out from this dept are scattered all over the India and are in positions of pride in life. Some of the well-known ex-students of this department are Satkari Mukherjee, Mrinal Kanti Bhadra, Gopal Chandra Khan and others.
Library: The arts library is one of the best equipped library. The Department though not at present has its own library, but the college library possesses most of the textbooks on Philosophy prescribed in the new syllabus. It also has a large and growing collection of reference material. There are more than 2000 books on Philosophy (both texts and reference books) in the college library which is very helpful to the students. Two Journal [Indian Philosophical Quarterly (Poona University) and Tulsi Prajna: Quarterly Research Journal (JVBI, Rajasthan)] has been subscribed for life-time subscription. Another Journal Anekant (New Delhi) has been subscribed for 5 years and the membership Journal of Indian Council of Philosophical Research, in going under process.

Award for Students: The department has awarded two prizes for the student who will stand first in this class in university examination.

  1. Prof. Satkari Bandyopadhyay Memorial Prize for Securing highest marks in Philosophy B.A. 3rd Yr. (Honours)

  2. Mousumi Das HOD of this department is the initiator of this prize in memory of her late father named “Late Nirod Baran Das”.

Another prize has been proposed by Smt. Das in memory of her mother Late Kanika Das for securing highest marks in the same.



Intake Capacity of Different Programmes


Level of Study

Cut-off Marks for Test

Intake Capacity

3-yrs B.A. (Hons.)




3-yrs B.A (Pass)


In order of merit



List of Teaching Staffs



Faculty Profile

Contact No.

Ms. M. Das

Assistant Prof.

Click Here to view full profile


Dr A. Jash

Assistant Prof.

Click Here to view full profile



  News and Event   Principal's Desk   I. Publications   Access Webmail
  Notice Board   Admission Notice     i) National   GB Members of BCC
  Appeal to Alumni & well wishers   Form Distribution     ii) International   Sports and Culture
      Hostel Details   2. Seminars   Photo Gallery

Virtual Tour of College Campus

  Netaji Subhas Open Univ.     i) National   Video Gallery
    Webel Computer Center     ii) International   Library
    AQAR of BCC       Consultancy Services - ASAR Sociology
            Contact us

Copyright © 2009 Bankura Christian College